Nov. 6 Reading with Joshua Henkin




Nov.6th at 6 p.m. New York Times notable book of the year author Joshua Henkin will meet with the RiverRun in-store book group to discuss his novel "Matrimony." He'll then give a reading from the book at 7 p.m. To participate in the book group, RSVP to riverrunevents@gmail.com. RiverRun Bookstore is located at 20 Congress Street in downtown Portsmouth. For more information on the event, visit www.riverrunbookstore.com or call (603) 431-2100. The event is free and open to the public. About Joshua Henkin and "Matrimony" Pulitzer Prize-winning author Michael Cunningham praises Henkin's writing style, saying he's "in the tradition of John Cheever and Richard Yates." It's the fall of 1986, and Julian Wainwright, an aspiring writer, arrives at Graymont College in New England. Here he meets Carter Heinz, with whom he develops a strong but ambivalent friendship, and beautiful Mia Mendelsohn, with whom he falls in love. Spurred on by a family tragedy, Julian and Mia's love affair will carry them to graduation and beyond, taking them through several college towns, over the next fifteen years. Starting at the height of the Reagan era and ending in the new millennium, Matrimony is a stunning novel of love and friendship, money and ambition, desire and tensions of faith. It is a richly detailed portrait of what it means to share a life with someone-to do it when you're young, and to try to do it afresh on the brink of middle age. Joshua Henkin is the author of the novel "Swimming Across the Hudson," which was selected by the Los Angeles Times as a notable book of the year; his short stories, essays, and reviews have appeared in many journals and newspapers. He teaches at Sarah Lawrence College, Brooklyn College and the 92nd Street Y in New York City. He lives in Brooklyn; visit him online at www.joshuahenkin.com. For more selected events click here for the NH Magazine calendar.
Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleEdit ModuleShow Tags

Calendar

Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Popular Articles

  1. New Hampshire's 2013 Top Doctors
    Check out the list of NH's Top Doctors and Leading Physicians.
  2. What's It Like to Live in a Family of 12?
    The average American family has fewer than two children. To some, any more than two seems...
  3. Q&As with Five of 2015's Top Doctors
    Q&As with five of the Top Doctors from the 2015 Top Doctors Poll.
  4. Zach Harvey the Man Behind the Bitcoin ATM
    Manchester, NH's Zach Harvey, along with his brother Josh, created the company Lamassu, which...
  5. 25 Tips for Good-for-you Dining Out
    Many local restaurants have added healthier versions of appetizer and menu favorites. A few have...
  6. A Classy and Complete Guide to Yard Sales
    The season is here, so get ready to tackle the tacky and chaotic world of putting your life on...
  7. The Constant Restorationist
    Doug Towle spent 2.4 million of his own money to restore this historic Gilmanton compound that is...
Edit Module
Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags