Nov. 6 Reading with Joshua Henkin




Nov.6th at 6 p.m. New York Times notable book of the year author Joshua Henkin will meet with the RiverRun in-store book group to discuss his novel "Matrimony." He'll then give a reading from the book at 7 p.m. To participate in the book group, RSVP to riverrunevents@gmail.com. RiverRun Bookstore is located at 20 Congress Street in downtown Portsmouth. For more information on the event, visit www.riverrunbookstore.com or call (603) 431-2100. The event is free and open to the public. About Joshua Henkin and "Matrimony" Pulitzer Prize-winning author Michael Cunningham praises Henkin's writing style, saying he's "in the tradition of John Cheever and Richard Yates." It's the fall of 1986, and Julian Wainwright, an aspiring writer, arrives at Graymont College in New England. Here he meets Carter Heinz, with whom he develops a strong but ambivalent friendship, and beautiful Mia Mendelsohn, with whom he falls in love. Spurred on by a family tragedy, Julian and Mia's love affair will carry them to graduation and beyond, taking them through several college towns, over the next fifteen years. Starting at the height of the Reagan era and ending in the new millennium, Matrimony is a stunning novel of love and friendship, money and ambition, desire and tensions of faith. It is a richly detailed portrait of what it means to share a life with someone-to do it when you're young, and to try to do it afresh on the brink of middle age. Joshua Henkin is the author of the novel "Swimming Across the Hudson," which was selected by the Los Angeles Times as a notable book of the year; his short stories, essays, and reviews have appeared in many journals and newspapers. He teaches at Sarah Lawrence College, Brooklyn College and the 92nd Street Y in New York City. He lives in Brooklyn; visit him online at www.joshuahenkin.com. For more selected events click here for the NH Magazine calendar.
Edit ModuleEdit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Popular Articles

  1. Remarkable Women 2016: The next generation
    The Granite State is known as a place where women’s contributions are valued and recognized....
  2. The best outdoor dining restaurants in the Lakes Region
    Check out our list of NH's best lakefront dining options for Alton Bay, Lake Winnipesauke and...
  3. Four Great Bike Rides
    Our experts recommend scenic bike rides in four different regions of the state. From a covered...
  4. A Guide to Spring Adventures in Colebrook
    From shops to arts centers, Colebrook has everything you could want in a Great North Woods vacation.
  5. The best outdoor dining spots in south and eastern NH
    Discover great food and outdoor dining options in Nashua, Merrimack and Salem
  6. Beer Ice Cream Combines Sweets and Suds
    Chris Perry has combined Kelsen brews and small-batch dessert in his new beer ice cream—and his...
  7. The Case of the Hairy Hand
    It's one of the first cases taught in law school—and one of the weirdest. But the Case of the...
Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags