Nov. 6 Reading with Joshua Henkin




Nov.6th at 6 p.m. New York Times notable book of the year author Joshua Henkin will meet with the RiverRun in-store book group to discuss his novel "Matrimony." He'll then give a reading from the book at 7 p.m. To participate in the book group, RSVP to riverrunevents@gmail.com. RiverRun Bookstore is located at 20 Congress Street in downtown Portsmouth. For more information on the event, visit www.riverrunbookstore.com or call (603) 431-2100. The event is free and open to the public. About Joshua Henkin and "Matrimony" Pulitzer Prize-winning author Michael Cunningham praises Henkin's writing style, saying he's "in the tradition of John Cheever and Richard Yates." It's the fall of 1986, and Julian Wainwright, an aspiring writer, arrives at Graymont College in New England. Here he meets Carter Heinz, with whom he develops a strong but ambivalent friendship, and beautiful Mia Mendelsohn, with whom he falls in love. Spurred on by a family tragedy, Julian and Mia's love affair will carry them to graduation and beyond, taking them through several college towns, over the next fifteen years. Starting at the height of the Reagan era and ending in the new millennium, Matrimony is a stunning novel of love and friendship, money and ambition, desire and tensions of faith. It is a richly detailed portrait of what it means to share a life with someone-to do it when you're young, and to try to do it afresh on the brink of middle age. Joshua Henkin is the author of the novel "Swimming Across the Hudson," which was selected by the Los Angeles Times as a notable book of the year; his short stories, essays, and reviews have appeared in many journals and newspapers. He teaches at Sarah Lawrence College, Brooklyn College and the 92nd Street Y in New York City. He lives in Brooklyn; visit him online at www.joshuahenkin.com. For more selected events click here for the NH Magazine calendar.
Edit ModuleEdit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Popular Articles

  1. Marvelous Mead
    A new trend based on an ancient drink
  2. Remarkable Women 2018: Persistence
    Fearless women like Marilla Ricker fought the status quo and launched women to the heights of the...
  3. The 2018 Excellence in Nursing Awards
    The inaugural Excellence in Nursing Awards honor 13 unsung heroes of the state’s medical...
  4. Exploring What It Means to Lead "Intelligent Lives"
    A local filmmaker teams up with a Hollywood legend to challenge conventional notions about IQ.
  5. Guide to Brunch
    Whether you’re looking for a little hair of the dog via bloody mary or an elegant buffet with...
  6. Discovering Stark
    Don't miss out on inns, bridges and waterfalls in Stark.
  7. How to Create Your Own Small Space Garden
    The basics of designing a garden for tiny spaces.
Edit ModuleShow Tags Edit ModuleShow Tags