Nov. 6 Reading with Joshua Henkin

Nov.6th at 6 p.m. New York Times notable book of the year author Joshua Henkin will meet with the RiverRun in-store book group to discuss his novel "Matrimony." He'll then give a reading from the book at 7 p.m. To participate in the book group, RSVP to RiverRun Bookstore is located at 20 Congress Street in downtown Portsmouth. For more information on the event, visit or call (603) 431-2100. The event is free and open to the public. About Joshua Henkin and "Matrimony" Pulitzer Prize-winning author Michael Cunningham praises Henkin's writing style, saying he's "in the tradition of John Cheever and Richard Yates." It's the fall of 1986, and Julian Wainwright, an aspiring writer, arrives at Graymont College in New England. Here he meets Carter Heinz, with whom he develops a strong but ambivalent friendship, and beautiful Mia Mendelsohn, with whom he falls in love. Spurred on by a family tragedy, Julian and Mia's love affair will carry them to graduation and beyond, taking them through several college towns, over the next fifteen years. Starting at the height of the Reagan era and ending in the new millennium, Matrimony is a stunning novel of love and friendship, money and ambition, desire and tensions of faith. It is a richly detailed portrait of what it means to share a life with someone-to do it when you're young, and to try to do it afresh on the brink of middle age. Joshua Henkin is the author of the novel "Swimming Across the Hudson," which was selected by the Los Angeles Times as a notable book of the year; his short stories, essays, and reviews have appeared in many journals and newspapers. He teaches at Sarah Lawrence College, Brooklyn College and the 92nd Street Y in New York City. He lives in Brooklyn; visit him online at For more selected events click here for the NH Magazine calendar.
Edit ModuleEdit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Popular Articles

  1. Guide to Local Beer in NH's Monadnock, Lakes and North Country Regions
    If you’re a craft beer lover in New Hampshire, then chances are you know all about what’s...
  2. 2016's Best New Restaurants
    New Hampshire is bustling with new restaurants this year. Here's a guide to some notable openings...
  3. Beating the breast cancer odds
    Surviving, heading-off cancer a family affair
  4. Is it Pneumonia?
    How to know when it's more than just a bad cold - and what you should do about it.
  5. Pamela Smart: Innocent or (Still) Guilty?
    After a quarter of a century in prison and the release of all others involved in the murder of...
  6. Redefining Farm-to-Table in Bath
    The Farm at Woods Hill in Bath and Woods Hill Table in Concord, Mass., are a dining enterprise...
  7. Prison Notes from Pam
    Photographer David Mendelsohn carried out correspondence with Pamela Smart in conjunction with...
Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags Edit ModuleShow Tags