Nov. 6 Reading with Joshua Henkin




Nov.6th at 6 p.m. New York Times notable book of the year author Joshua Henkin will meet with the RiverRun in-store book group to discuss his novel "Matrimony." He'll then give a reading from the book at 7 p.m. To participate in the book group, RSVP to riverrunevents@gmail.com. RiverRun Bookstore is located at 20 Congress Street in downtown Portsmouth. For more information on the event, visit www.riverrunbookstore.com or call (603) 431-2100. The event is free and open to the public. About Joshua Henkin and "Matrimony" Pulitzer Prize-winning author Michael Cunningham praises Henkin's writing style, saying he's "in the tradition of John Cheever and Richard Yates." It's the fall of 1986, and Julian Wainwright, an aspiring writer, arrives at Graymont College in New England. Here he meets Carter Heinz, with whom he develops a strong but ambivalent friendship, and beautiful Mia Mendelsohn, with whom he falls in love. Spurred on by a family tragedy, Julian and Mia's love affair will carry them to graduation and beyond, taking them through several college towns, over the next fifteen years. Starting at the height of the Reagan era and ending in the new millennium, Matrimony is a stunning novel of love and friendship, money and ambition, desire and tensions of faith. It is a richly detailed portrait of what it means to share a life with someone-to do it when you're young, and to try to do it afresh on the brink of middle age. Joshua Henkin is the author of the novel "Swimming Across the Hudson," which was selected by the Los Angeles Times as a notable book of the year; his short stories, essays, and reviews have appeared in many journals and newspapers. He teaches at Sarah Lawrence College, Brooklyn College and the 92nd Street Y in New York City. He lives in Brooklyn; visit him online at www.joshuahenkin.com. For more selected events click here for the NH Magazine calendar.
Edit ModuleEdit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Popular Articles

  1. Beer Guide 2016 - Seacoast and Merrimack Valley
    Looking for more great beer? Here's the rest of the 2016 edition of the Beer Guide that we...
  2. Guide to Local Beer in NH's Monadnock, Lakes and North Country Regions
    If you’re a craft beer lover in New Hampshire, then chances are you know all about what’s...
  3. Walking New Hampshire's Northern Border
    “Good fences make good neighbors,” wrote Robert Frost, quoting his grumpy muse. No fences...
  4. Tips for Taking Great Outdoor Photos
    Your photography doesn't have to stop at selfies. Learn how to take top-quality shots of the...
  5. The Scaredycat's Guide to Haunted Houses
    Fear led our primitive ancestors to hide in caves and build fires to keep their nightmares at...
  6. Donna Zils Banfield Turns Simple Bowls into Works of Art
    The Derry woodturner's vessels would bring flair to any home.
  7. Take a Fall Jaunt to Jaffrey
    A seasonal tradition and a spate of history and culture makes the town worth a visit this fall.
Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags Edit ModuleShow Tags