Nov. 6 Reading with Joshua Henkin




Nov.6th at 6 p.m. New York Times notable book of the year author Joshua Henkin will meet with the RiverRun in-store book group to discuss his novel "Matrimony." He'll then give a reading from the book at 7 p.m. To participate in the book group, RSVP to riverrunevents@gmail.com. RiverRun Bookstore is located at 20 Congress Street in downtown Portsmouth. For more information on the event, visit www.riverrunbookstore.com or call (603) 431-2100. The event is free and open to the public. About Joshua Henkin and "Matrimony" Pulitzer Prize-winning author Michael Cunningham praises Henkin's writing style, saying he's "in the tradition of John Cheever and Richard Yates." It's the fall of 1986, and Julian Wainwright, an aspiring writer, arrives at Graymont College in New England. Here he meets Carter Heinz, with whom he develops a strong but ambivalent friendship, and beautiful Mia Mendelsohn, with whom he falls in love. Spurred on by a family tragedy, Julian and Mia's love affair will carry them to graduation and beyond, taking them through several college towns, over the next fifteen years. Starting at the height of the Reagan era and ending in the new millennium, Matrimony is a stunning novel of love and friendship, money and ambition, desire and tensions of faith. It is a richly detailed portrait of what it means to share a life with someone-to do it when you're young, and to try to do it afresh on the brink of middle age. Joshua Henkin is the author of the novel "Swimming Across the Hudson," which was selected by the Los Angeles Times as a notable book of the year; his short stories, essays, and reviews have appeared in many journals and newspapers. He teaches at Sarah Lawrence College, Brooklyn College and the 92nd Street Y in New York City. He lives in Brooklyn; visit him online at www.joshuahenkin.com. For more selected events click here for the NH Magazine calendar. Edit Module
Edit ModuleEdit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Calendar

Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Popular Articles

  1. Rescue Mission
    There are dozens of non-profit animal shelters, farms and facilities, breed rescue groups and pet...
  2. Presidential longshot Vermin Surpreme
    Perennial longshot (to say the least) candidate Vermin Supreme is back with his promise to give a...
  3. Eating With the Presidential Candidates
    It’s a familiar scene here in the Granite State — presidential candidates trying to win your...
  4. Gloria Norris’ Journey From Nowheresville to “Kookooland”
    Don't miss this life-is-stranger-than-fiction memoir from a New Hampshire filmmaker who now calls...
  5. Franconia Notch in the Winter
    We’ve enjoyed the many attractions of Franconia Notch in the summer and fall, but never stopped...
  6. A Passion for Pastry
    The old-fashioned American bake shop gives way to a more diverse sweet universe. The bakery café...
  7. Sweet Rides and the Rockers Who Love Them
    In the month when we celebrate Valentine’s Day, learn about a different kind of love affair —...
Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags